Real Love Songs

images-2

Featured photo via oversixty.com.au

Love Songs

Like many people I love a good ballad or some soul engulfing love song that promotes all the feels. A song you can turn on when you just wanna be engulfed in every little feeling like some giddy school girl. Orrrr, one of those songs that comes on your stereo and you swear your stereo is trying to fuck with you. Regardless, I’m not sure all the traditional sappy tunes we typically listen to really represent what real love is like. The I will always love you’s (don’t you dare talk shit about Whitney) of the world are far more Disney fairy tale than reality despite how much we adore them. Real love, or just our experiences with love in general, are far more complicated.

To show what I mean, I have listed some love songs below that I feel more accurately represent real love: hard, complicated, painful, confusing, often disappointing, struggle filled, up and down, earth moving real love. Or at least real relationships.

Course this is coming from a single guy. I probably wouldn’t feel the desire to make this list if that weren’t the case, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t some truth to it all either.

Real Love Songs

sean mc

Sean McConnell – Shotgun

Probably should start with something sappy before I lose you all. This may not necessarily buck the trend completely, but this is what I want love to be.

countthispenny_02

Count This Penny – Storm With You

Damn storms.

delta rae

Delta Rae – If I Loved You

This is the song you should’ve played.

jvm

James Vincent McMorrow – Wicked Game

A classic. All the feels.

gnash

gnash – i hate you i love you

Not sure this song really represents my own feelings or experiences, but I think it’s a beautifully honest and raw song nonetheless.

garethdunlop

Gareth Dunlop – Wrap Your Arms Around Me

“We’re all fragile underneath.”

frances

Frances – Don’t Worry About Me

That’s love. Makes me think of my friends Matt and Stephanie.

dram

 

David Ramirez – The Bad Days

Much more indicative of what a real relationship entails. Focus on the good days. Make more of them. Period.

fh

Faith Hill – Cry

Can’t really have a love song list without a country song in there now can we? That being said, I feel like this song more accurately represents the struggle that the women I was with before now went through. Sorry I couldn’t – cry.

cor c

Cory Chisel – Never Meant To Love You

Ok, so I guess the hopeless romantic in me let a few conventional ones slip in this list. Bare with me.

Erick_Baker

Erick Baker – Do I Ever Cross Your Mind

Saw him at the same place as this YouTube video a few years earlier. Dude gets the whole ‘I’m a man and I’ve fucked up’ perspective.

Highly recommend his Unbroken Promise as well, because…”It won’t be perfect. Just an unbroken promise from this imperfect man.”

ke

It Must Have Been Love – Kathleen Edwards

Sad? Yes. Relatable? Yes. Hits home? Hell yes.

Ryan-Adams-438x400

Ryan Adams – My Wrecking Ball

Goddamn this song.

ls

Lucie Silva – Letters To Ghosts

Questioning my own manhood putting this up. : )

a d

Andrew Duhon – Gonna Take A Little Rain

Truth.

damienriceandraylamontagnedamienriceraylamontagne

Ray Lamontagne and Damien Rice – To Love Somebody

I feel like I would’ve failed if I didn’t have Ray up here.

tt

Tanya Tucker – Two Sparrows In A Hurricane

The only way this list could end.

 

Conclusion

Songs are an analogy, a representation of love. They are all real, but some paint a more accurate picture than others.

In regards to what they represent – love – here’s a story I would like to share that might paint a more accurate picture of what that is.

For me, the most balanced, seamless love I’ve ever been around was that of my grandparents growing up. They were about to celebrate their 50th anniversary before they both died in a car wreck (side by side). To me, they were the epitome of companionship and partnership when I was growing up. As a result, I often compared my own relationships to that standard of their love growing up. However, I later realized how pointless and unfair that actually was. I had only gotten to see the final product of almost 50 years of marriage, and therefore; to expect the same out of my own young relationships was extremely short sighted of me.  I hadn’t gotten to see the previous almost 50 years of marriage that led to such a high level of trust and devotion. Fifty years of trial and error, heartbreak and letdowns, pain and frustration, failure and mistakes. I just saw their I will always love you at the end.

In fact, it wasn’t until after their death that I learned that there was almost a five year period where they didn’t even talk at all because my grandmother had had a drinking problem. Something I could’ve never even fathomed growing up. To me, they were always just Mr. and Mrs. Ragsdale – a team, a couple, an example.

My point is, love is not as simple as I will always love you. Love isn’t just an end product or what you hear in a song. Love is having to say your sorry a thousand times. Love is more than 50/50 because someone is always going to fall short of their half. Love is standing in the middle of a hurricane waiting for the storm to pass. Love is patient, love is kind, love is enduring. Love is not perfect, and it’s certainly not done by perfect people. Love does.

I dunno, there’s a point in there somewhere.

Write your own love song and sing the shit out of it!

**Correction: It was a failure to not include Otis Redding. It’s impossible to pick one, so we’ll just put up my favorite ‘feel’ of his.

Otis Redding – These Arms of Mine

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

