Love -N- Shit

This was my first attempt at writing and self expression about 3 years ago. Honestly, I didn’t even explore writing in such a way again until almost a year ago. I had no idea back then that this would be an indicator that I had found my voice, and that writing would later be something I pursued full time (when I have time). This was just me being me in another random, deep, goofy way. Not sure I come any other way really. It feels good to be able to continue sharing those random, deep thoughts with you now. Enjoy! 


After wiping my nose this morning with some toilet paper I found myself looking at the roll. There were only a couple squares left and I knew the next event in the bathroom would bring about the inevitable, oh-so-cautious, usage of the last pieces of T.P. However, at that moment, instead of thinking about how I was going to go about replenishing my supplies, I had a typical me moment of random, deep wondering. I said to myself, “What if we used or cherished love like it was the last piece of T.P.?”

Now before you begin drawing your own conclusions to that question (or begin wondering what crazy ass drugs I was on this morning) allow me to explain what I mean. Oh, and the answer to the latter is none. I’m just special.

Anyways, I was not thinking out loud about loving shitty people metaphorically speaking, nor was I pondering wiping my ass with love. What I meant by that thought, is that; we often waste T.P. like we waste love. Deep shit right? (No pun intended)

When only a little will do the job, we are often greedy and unappreciative of our highly valuable bathroom resource, and use as much as we want with very little gratitude. But when it finally comes down to that last piece of T.P., we don’t waste an inch. We honor it and use it with incredible, precise planning and appreciation. Not thinking for a second about wasting half a roll to create a paper force field between our ass and the toilet seat.

So my questions was/is, what if we appreciated love like it was the last piece of T.P.?

Doing so, so that whenever we are given love we honor it and cherish it and use it only for its intended purpose. Not taking a single bit for granted. We don’t assume that there will always be more, or that it’s just routine. We embrace it like there’s not another thing in the world that could aptly do the job, or fulfill our needs. Making the most out of everything we have. Even possibly going a bit further at times and unraveling the remainder of that roll to make the most out of what we’ve been given; metaphorically speaking.

After all, love, like T.P., is a luxury. Not everyone has them, but life is so much better with them both. So, maybe, just for today, try and see all the love and kindness in your world as if they’re that last piece of T.P. Let no amount go unappreciated. Let no amount be wasted. Because let’s face it, even the shittiest of T.P. is better than no T.P. at all.

This has been a random, deep thought by General Parks.

*Add on: Love, like T.P., is also of better quality the more you invest in it. Whether that investment is time, effort, or money. Make wise investments, because both can fall apart right in front of you. (Thanks Trey)*

Leave a Reply

